Predict Big Ten football individual and team awards for 2022

It’s August and that means we’ll be able to watch some college football this month. Rejoice and get the DVR set, because it means we’re hopefully ready to watch an Ohio State and Big Ten football season that has the chance to be truly special.

Before we get to that, we thought we were trying to predict all conference football awards before they actually happen on the field. We feel pretty good about some of them, but you can bet your bottom dollar there will be surprises when the red carpet rolls out for the 2022 season.

We’ll line up to find out which team will win each division, who will win Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Coach, and more.

At the end of the season, we’ll look back on all of that to see how well we did, but for now, here’s how we see all of the Big Ten football awards going.

Big Ten East Division Champion

Ohio State ranked among the top 25 college footballers ESPN FPI updated

Ohio State Buckeyes offensive lineman Paris Johnson Jr. (77) celebrates a touchdown by wide receiver Marvin Harrison Jr. (18) during the fourth quarter at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California on January 1, 2022. Credit: USA TODAY Sports Network

The choice

ohio state

Big Ten West Division Champion

December 30, 2020; Charlotte, North Carolina, USA; The Wisconsin Badgers gather around their trophy after defeating Wake Forest Demon Deacons at Bank of America Stadium. Credit: Jim Dedmon-USA TODAY Sports

The choice


Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year

Former coach thinks CJ Stroud should be the No. 1 pick in the NFL Draft

Ohio State Buckeyes quarterback CJ Stroud (7) calls a play during the first quarter of the NCAA football game against the Michigan State Spartans at Ohio Stadium in Columbus on Saturday November 20, 2021. Credit: USA TODAY Sports Network

The choice

QB CJ Stroud, Ohio State

Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year

December 12, 2020; Iowa City, Iowa, USA; Iowa Hawkeyes linebacker Jack Campbell (31) reacts after an interception against the Wisconsin Badgers in the fourth quarter at Kinnick Stadium. Credit: Jeffrey Becker – USA TODAY Sports

The choice

LB Jack Campbell, Iowa

Thompson-Randel El Freshman of the Year

Penn State freshman running back Nicholas Singleton waits to be recognized before the start of the 2022 Blue-White game at Beaver Stadium Saturday, April 23, 2022, at State College. Credit: USA TODAY Sports Network

The choice

RB Nicholas Singleton, Penn State

Hayes-Shembechler Coach of the Year

Ohio State head coach Ryan Day on Dodd 2022 preseason watch list

Ohio State Buckeyes head coach Ryan Day looks on during the Spring Football game at Ohio Stadium in Columbus on April 16, 2022. Credit: USA TODAY Sports Network

The choice

Ryan Day, Ohio State

Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year

Ohio State QB CJ Stroud tops Heisman odds for 2022 |  Buckeyes Wireated REIT Metrics |  Buckeyes Wire

October 30, 2021; Columbus, Ohio, USA; Ohio State Buckeyes quarterback CJ Stroud (7) calls a beep against the Penn State Nittany Lions in the fourth quarter at Ohio Stadium. Credit: Joseph Maiorana-USA TODAY Sports

The choice

CJ Stroud, Ohio State

Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year

Wisconsin Badgers running back Braelon Allen (0) runs for a long first down in the third quarter against Nebraska Cornhuskers safety Myles Farmer (4) during their football game Saturday, Nov. 20, 2021 at Camp Randall in Madison , Wis. Dan Powers/ USA TODAY NETWORK-Wisconsin

The choice

Braelon Allen, Wisconsin

See also  'VAR embarrassed the referee' - Conte says English football must learn how to use VAR correctly

Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year

WATCH: Ohio State wide receiver Smith-Njigba reflects on Rose Bowl epic

Sat 1 Jan 2022; Pasadena, California, USA; Ohio State Buckeyes wide receiver Jaxon Smith-Njigba (11) returns to Utah players after a reception during the fourth quarter of the 108th Rose Bowl game between the Ohio State Buckeyes and the Utah Utes at the Rose Bowl. Credit: USA TODAY Sports Network

The choice

Jaxon Smith-Njigba, Ohio State

Tight end to the year Kwalick-Clark

Iowa tight end Sam LaPorta (84) smiles after hosting a reception during an NCAA Big Ten Conference football game against Minnesota, Saturday, Nov. 13, 2021, at Kinnick Stadium in Iowa City, Iowa. Credit: USA TODAY Sports

The choice

Sam LaPorta, Iowa

Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year

EVANSTON, ILLINOIS – DECEMBER 12: Peter Skoronski #77 of the Northwestern Wildcats blocks Isaiah Gay #92 of the Illinois Fighting Illini at Ryan Field on December 12, 2020 in Evanston, Illinois. (Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)

The choice

Peter Skoronski, North West

Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year

MADISON, WISCONSIN – SEPTEMBER 04: PJ Mustipher #97 of the Penn State Nittany Lions reacts to a defensive save during a game against the Wisconsin Badgers at Camp Randall Stadium on September 04, 2021 in Madison, Wisconsin. (Photo by Stacy Revere/Getty Images)

The choice

PJ Mustipher, Penn State

Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year

ORLANDO, FL – JANUARY 01: Jack Campbell #31 of the Iowa Hawkeyes looks on before the game against the Kentucky Wildcats at the Citrus Bowl at Camping World Stadium on January 01, 2022 in Orlando, Florida. (Photo by Douglas P. DeFelice/Getty Images)

The choice

Jack Campbell, Iowa

Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year

October 30, 2021; College Park, Maryland, USA; Indiana Hoosiers defensive back Tiawan Mullen (3) before the game against the Maryland Terrapins at Capital One Field at Maryland Stadium. Credit: Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

The choice

Taiwan Mullen, Indiana

Bakken-Anderson Kicker of the Year

December 31, 2021; Miami Gardens, Florida, USA; Michigan Wolverines places kicker Jake Moody (13) scores on a pitch against the Georgia Bulldogs in the second quarter during the Orange Bowl CFP College Football National Semifinals at Hard Rock Stadium. Credit: Sam Navarro-USA TODAY Sports

The choice

Jake Moody, Michigan

Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year

Adam Korsak of Rutgers kicks the ball in the first half as Temple played Rutgers in the season opener at SHI Stadium in Piscataway, NJ on September 4, 2021. Temple played Rutgers in the season opener at Shi Stadium in Piscataway Nj on September 4, 2021 Credit: USA TODAY Sports Network

The choice

Adam Korsak, Rutgers

Rodgers-Dwight Returns Specialist of the Year

Michigan State’s Jayden Reed returns a punt for a touchdown against Nebraska during the fourth quarter, Saturday, Sept. 25, 2021, at Spartan Stadium in East Lansing. Credit: USA TODAY Sports Network

The choice

Jayden Reed, Michigan State

Contact us/Follow us @BuckeyesWire on Twitter and like our page on Facebook for continued coverage of Ohio State news, ratings and views. Follow Phil Harrison on Twitter.

Let us know your thoughts and comment on this story below. Join the conversation today.

Leave a Comment