Start time, players, how to watch and stream the 2022 induction class

Former Eagles head coach Dick Vermeil will officially enter the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday, an honor that crowns a football career spanning nearly five decades.

Vermeil will be the last of eight inductees at a noontime ceremony at the Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio, which will be broadcast live on ESPN and the NFL Network. There, Vermeil’s bust will be unveiled and the emotional head coach will attempt to condense his thoughts and feelings into an eight-minute speech.

“Hopefully by being last they could give me a minute or two if I pass,” Vermeil said during a 94.1 WIP Sunday interview with Glen Macnow and Jody McDonald. “It is what it is, and I couldn’t be more grateful than I am.”

READ MORE: Dick Vermeil’s Hall of Fame coaching career was fueled by a fire that nearly burned him down

Philadelphia native Art McNally, who will be the first NFL umpire inducted and is known as the “Father of Instant Replay,” will also enter the Hall of Fame on Saturday. He implemented rules that modernized the game and developed the standards the league uses to rate its umpires.

“My philosophy has always been, ‘Phone the right way,'” McNally told the Daily News in 1990. “If it requires review, fine. Just get it right.

Here’s everything you need to know to watch or stream the 2022 Pro Football Hall of Fame induction ceremony:

The Class of 2022 induction ceremony is scheduled to begin at noon Eastern Time and will be broadcast live on ESPN and the NFL Network.

The ceremony will be streamed live on the ESPN app, though it’s only available to cable subscribers. Fans can also stream the ceremony on a host of services that carry either network, including FuboTV, Hulu With Live TV, DirecTV Stream, Sling TV or YouTube TV.

See also  Warren of Abilene Cooper, Abilene High Women's XC Team Earn Honors

Philadelphia native Suzy Kolber will anchor ESPN’s coverage, alongside Bucks County native and former Eagles front-office executive Louis Riddick and longtime NFL insider Chris Mortensen. For the 22nd year, Chris Berman will host the ceremony.

On the NFL Network, coverage begins at 11 a.m., with Rich Eisen (who recently signed a new contract with the network) joined by Hall of Famers Kurt Warner and Michael Irvin. Steve Mariucci, Willie McGinest and Steve Wyche will also join the cover.

READ MORE: Here are some tips if you’re considering driving from Philadelphia to the Hall of Fame

Here are this year’s inductees, in the order they will speak:

  1. Leroy Butler, safety, Green Bay Packers (1990-2001)

  2. Sam Mills, linebacker, New Orleans Saints (1986-1994); Carolina Panthers (1995-1997)

  3. Richard Seymour, defensive end/defensive tackle, New England Patriots (2001-08); Oakland Raiders (2009–2012)

  4. Art McNally, NFL official/administrator (1959-2015)

  5. Tony Bosellitackle, Jacksonville Jaguars (1995-2001)

  6. Bryant Youngdefensive end/defensive tackle, San Francisco 49ers (1994-2007)

  7. cliff branchwide receiver, Oakland/LA Raiders (1972-1985)

  8. Dick Vermeilhead coach, Philadelphia Eagles (1976-1982), St. Louis Rams (1997-1999), Kansas City Chiefs (2001-2005)

Mills and Branch are inducted posthumously – Mills by his widow, Melanie, and Branch by his sister, Elaine Anderson. Mills died in 2005 after battling bowel cancer, while Branch died in 2019 aged 71.

McNally, who is 97, has pre-recorded a speech that will be broadcast while he is honored. Shannon O’Hara, her granddaughter, will deliver a speech onstage when her bust is unveiled.

READ MORE: Art McNally’s Pro Football Hall of Fame induction was his late daughter’s dream

With this year’s class, 362 players, coaches and administrators have been elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The Eagles are represented by 12 Hall of Famers who have made major career contributions to Philadelphia. Other Hall of Famers, such as Terrell Owens and Cris Carter, played for the Eagles but spent most of their careers elsewhere.

See also  Matteo Berrettini vs Casper Ruud ATP US Open Tennis 2022 Schedule, Date, Time, Prediction, Head to Head, Odds, Results, Score, Tickets, Live Stream

The Hall of Famers representing the Eagles are:

  • Eagles co-founder Bert Bell (1963)

  • Running back Steve Van Buren (1965)

  • Linebacker Chuck Bednarik (1967)

  • Eagles head coach Earle “Greasy” Neale (1969)

  • Wide receiver Pete Pihos (1970)

  • Quarterback Sonny Jurgensen (1983)

  • Halfback Tommy McDonald (1998)

  • Defensive end Reggie White (2006)

  • Offensive lineman Bob “Boomer” Brown (2014)

  • Security Brian Dawkins (2018)

  • Wide Receiver Harold Carmichael (2020)

  • Head Coach Dick Vermeil (2022)

Busts of this year’s inductees will be added to the gallery on Sunday, the day after their unveiling.

Vermeil wears his heart on his sleeve, but he has kept his NFL secrets in massive binders.

One is his 1982 Eagles offensive notebooks which contain approximately 700 pages of formations, plays and definitions players were expected to learn. It also includes touches of Vermeil’s connection to the team, such as a heartfelt introduction dedicated to six former players and coaches who took jobs with other teams but “exemplify what it means to be an Eagle”.

Vermeil donated other playbooks, including a 2005 Kansas City Chiefs offensive binder and his playbook while he was head coach of the former St. Louis Rams. Vermeil was also the first special teams coach in NFL history, and his 1969 Los Angeles Rams playbook is on display.

Vermiel also donated the Eagles hat he wore during the 1980 season, his first as the team’s head coach. He also handed over two items of clothing – an Eagles polo shirt he wore during the 1980 season and the Rams windbreaker he wore in 2000, the year they won the Super Bowl.

» READ MORE: 9 hidden Eagles objects in the Pro Football Hall of Fame

Leave a Comment